My depression tries to swallow me whole

My depression tries to swallow me whole,
Keeping me in the darkness,
Even when I see the morning sun.
I try to fight the darkness!
By catching rays of light,
In the palms of my hands.
No matter how many lights
I touch or try to hold,
The darkness still wins.
Finding a reason to wake up,
Even for a cup of tea,
Or just to see the new dawn
Of a new day drowning me.
I feel like I am in the ocean,
With waves crashing
Over my body until I fall,
Only to pick myself up again.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

